JUST A PROMISE (SIDE-STORY)

Side Story about a promise that Angel’s Shadow and Devil’s Light made when they were kids.

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT HAS JOINED THE CHATROOM [THE MUSKETEARS]

[CHAT] CURRENTLY ONLINE: GAMBLING_KING, C_SHARP, & DEVILS_LIGHT

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: Who got Nat drunk again?

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: Our chatroom name changed again…

[CHAT] GAMBLING_KING: I think he did it himself.

[CHAT] C_SHARP: Naw bud…

[CHAT] C_SHARP: I just got back from the dentist guy on Maxwell street

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: So…

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: High?

[CHAT] GAMBLING_KING: Seems like it.

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT HAS VOTED TO CHANGE THE CHATROOM NAME TO [THE TRIO] VOTES: 1/3 ONE MORE IS NEEDED TO CHANGE THE NAME

[CHAT] C_SHARP: Don’t you dare fucking vote Ni

[CHAT] GAMBLING_KING HAS VOTED TO CHANGE THE CHATROOM NAME TO [THE TRIO] NUMBER OF VOTES REQUIRED TO CHANGE CHATROOM NAME HAS BEEN REACHED.

[CHAT] CHATROOM NAME HAS CHANGED FROM [THE MUSKETEARS] TO [THE TRIO]

[CHAT] C_SHARP: I hate both of you…

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: Yeah yeah…

[CHAT] GAMBLING_KING: I overheard Masque and Hatchet today

[CHAT] GAMBLING_KING: They were talking about a promise that Angel made with you, Devil

[CHAT] C_SHARP: Eh?

[CHAT] C_SHARP: What peomis?

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: Promise*

[CHAT] C_SHARP: You know what I dicking meant

[CHAT] GAMBLING_KING: fucking*

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: Nah

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: I think he meant ducking

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: Oh! Speaking of ducking, I saw these adorable ducklings from Dallas Pond that reminded me of your girls and of Ashy

[CHAT] C_SHARP: Don’t you dare fucking change the subject

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: Fine….

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: Angel and I made a promise back before we started The Vanished

[CHAT] C_SHARP: Storytime?

[CHAT] GAMBLING_KING: Storytime!

ILLUSIONER FILE: DEVIL’S LIGHT

It’s been so long, so I remember it vaguely…

Elodia and I were sitting in the lab, getting an ear bashing from Vienna since we had another fight. I grew tired and ran off afterwards, hiding on the roof on some old building. Sitting down, I screamed until my voice started to grow hoarse. I threw rocks at a broken billboard, watching the dust fly up then down. I kept at it until falling down from exhaustion.

The fight was about family. I was just mad since my dad divorced my mom for a slag and took Violet away from my brother and I.

I hated it.

I didn’t mean to shout at Elodia. I didn’t mean to say that she doesn’t have a mother, that she wasn’t wanted by her mother, when reality she came from a surrogate.

After cooling down, I heard the echo of a small knock on a venting system. Turning around I saw Elodia.

Her left arm bandaged up, lower leg wrapped up as well. She had her hair pulled back into a ponytail and her once torn and burnt clothes were now different and clean.

“What do you want?” I grumbled.

“You didn’t mean that.”

“What if I did?”

“You didn’t.” Her tone of voice gave away a small huff of annoyance.

It was silent. Elodia walked over and sat down with me.

“It’s hard… I know.” She said.

“How do you know…”

“Because families fight and friends fight. People get mad or sad and sometimes they can’t control what they say.” Her eyes darkened, “I did that once…”

I listened as she continued to tell her story-

ILLUSIONER FILE : ANGEL’S SHADOW

“I was with Pieter in the back of my papa’s truck. I liked it when it was my dads and I, with Pieter coming over to babysit when my grandparents couldn’t.” I sighed, “My baba said that it was a surprise, but I knew what a orphanage looked like.”

“As soon as I saw my Papá enter that building I started to cry and ask if I was going to a new family since they didn’t love me. I started saying really mean things and swore a lot in my dads native languages. Baba calmed me down and Pieter just told me that I was going to get a full-time babysitter, like if he was sick or gone, it will be my new brother watching over me. And that he’ll still be my babysitter, but he’ll tell me that he will help Dama with taking care of me.“

Shaking my head, I smiled, “I was still pretty cautious of Damario after he walked out and climbed onto the truck. But, a bit after he and Pieter started talking, I wanted all of Damario’s attention for myself like the five-year-old I was. Ay, did Pieter get annoyed, but he was happy still.”

Devyn looked at me and watched me for a few seconds before giving me some sort of sign to continue.

“But, that was also the day I was taken away. Made best friends with my new older brother and taken away the same day…”

Silence took over for awhile.

[CHAT] ARACHNE: Then what happened?

[CHAT] SELKIE: Yeah!

[CHAT] SELKIE: Don’t leave us hanging.

[CHAT] HATCHET: So?

[CHAT] MASQUE: Everyone be silent and let her finish.

[CHAT] MASQUE: It’s like working with children…

ILLUSIONER FILE : DEVIL’S LIGHT

I watched as she suddenly stood up and held her hand out to me.

“Elodia Akinci Callejo Wolfgang and I’m eleven years old. Risk zero illusioner. I love video games, drawing, reading, writing, singing, dancing, photography, baking, and lots of other stuff. My dads are Kadri and Anastasio Jr. I have a brother called, Damario. My best friends are Julio, Kenta, Kamryn, Luis, and (NAME REDACTED). I have lots of boas and animals at my grandparents mansion. Do you want to be friends?”

The word, again was silent, but I took her hand and shook it, “Devyn Dalton Batts. Twelve years old. I have a sister named Violet and a brother named Luca. We’re triplets. My mum is Felicity and my dad is Aaron, they’re divorced. I have a cat named, Mr. Snowman. I love video games and sports.”

Elodia smiled before helping me up, “Death do us part.”

“Isn’t that a marriage thing?”

“We’re friends until the end. Promise?”

She let go of my hand and held out her pinky towards me, “Until death do us part, we’ll remain friends until the end. I swear.” Using her free hand, she created a X over her heart with her shadows.

I smiled and linked my pinky with hers, “I swear.” And a X over my heart was created from my flames.

[CHAT] C_SHARP: Oh

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: Don’t pull a Selly

[CHAT] C_SHARP: My fucking god!

[CHAT] GAMBLING_KING: That explains a lot actually

[CHAT] C_SHARP: That’s adorable!

[CHAT] C_SHARP: WE SHOULD SO DO SOMETHING LIKE THAT!

[CHAT] DEVILS_LIGHT: No

ILLUSIONER FILE: ANGEL’S SHADOW

[CHAT] SELKIE: That’s so adorable!

[CHAT] HATCHET: So that was pretty cute

[CHAT] ANGELS_SHADOW: Yeah…

[CHAT] ANGELS_SHADOW: I know

[CHAT] ARACHNE: So why the gang?

[CHAT] ARACHNE: Won’t the friends till the end work even if you didn’t create a gang together?

[CHAT] MASQUE: Or is it something else?

[CHAT] ANGELS_SHADOW: Nothing like that!!!

[CHAT} ANGELS_SHADOW: Seriosuly, ya’ll need to clean yur brains

[CHAT] ANGELS_SHADOW: Know ehat?

[CHAT] ANGELS_SHADOW: I’m out! ¡Adios!

[CHAT] ANGELS_SHADOW HAS LOGGED OUT OF THE CHATROOM [THE BEST ARKALAIANS]

[CHAT] ARACHNE: Did Kam change the namr again when we logged out?

[CHAT] HATCHET: Heh, yeah

[CHAT] MASQUE: Honestly…

Leave a Reply

