LITTLE MEMENTO (SIDE STORY)

Side Story on how Visage and Angel’s Shadow/Lullaby met.

ILLUSIONER FILE : VISAGE

“Pretty.”

I froze. It’s been a few hours since I found the spray-paint cans and started on a drawing.

“It’s sad,” I replied, turning to face the figure.

A girl, long dark brown hair with blonde bangs. She was wearing shorts and a tank top with an over-sized soccer jacket. She was smiling at me as if I was a friend. But not far, I could see another figure by some broken wall of a store, watching us… No… Me.

“Pretty can be sad.”

“No, it can’t.”

“Winter is sad, but it’s pretty.”

Cyril shook his head before sitting back to look at his piece.

“I’m Elodia Akinci Callejo Wolfgang.” Elodia held her hand out.

I was silent before reaching out to shake her hand, “Cyril Theil.”

“Why are you wearing a mask?”

“I don’t know.”

“Then why is it on?”

“I don’t know.”

“Maybe you will someday.”

“Someday…”

Elodia sat down next to me, dimly smiling, “Did your parents leave you here?”

I just nodded, but it was only a lie.

“Do you have any friends?”

I shook my head. Another lie, I have another friend… But, they’re away for now.

Elodia giggled before giving a reply, “Liar! Liar! You have me now!”

Despite my face being hidden, I could feel a small smile growing more and more as Elodia and I continued to talk while I painted.

She talked about her dads and how one would always let her help bake and the other would let her help with designing. Her brother was mentioned as some other kids ran by with a soccer ball.

“My hermano is such a good player! He’s going to be on my hometown’s team!”

“That’s cool…”

“What about you? Do you have any brothers or sisters?”

I became silent, my hands stilling as I thought about the question.

“I… I don’t know.”

“Cyril!”

I looked over, broken from the memory to see Elodia and Colver waiting for me. We were going to one of Damario’s after-game events. In my hands was a child-sized gas-mask.

“Sorry… I just remembered something.” I explained as I placed the gas-mask back on the shelf.

“You still have that old thing?” Elodia teased, “Because I still got the cans from when we first met.”

“Really?” I watched her for a bit before chuckling, “You are the one for mementos.”

Elodia pouted and playfully slapped my shoulder before tugging on my shirt, “Come on! Colver wants the mocha ice cream.”

I looked at her before chuckling, “Alright, alright. Let’s get going.”

Leave a Reply

